Malta Public Transport

Malta Public Transport Announces Special Services for EuroPride 2023 Opening Ceremony


Malta Public Transport is organising special services and extra bus routes for the EuroPride 2023 opening ceremony, featuring Eurovision winner Netta, on September 7th, 2023. Due to adverse weather forecasts, the location of the event has been changed to the Malta Fairs and Conventions Centre (MFCC) at Ta’ Qali.


Malta Public Transport has planned the following services to match the opening and closing ceremony.


Extra Bus Route 202:

From Sliema Ferries to Rabat, passing through Sliema, St. Julian's, Pembroke, San Gwann, Naxxar, Mosta, and Ta' Qali with departures at 17:45hrs, 18:15hrs, and 19:00hrs

In conjunction with the scheduled departure times, Route 202 will run every 15 minutes from 17:30hrs to 19:00hrs.


Extra Route 186:

From Bugibba to Rabat, serving Qawra, Burmarrad, Mosta, Attard, and Ta' Qali with departures at 18:20hrs, 18:50hrs, and 19:20hrs. Route 186 will operate at 15-minute intervals from 18:05hrs to 19:35hrs in coordination with the scheduled departure times.


For commuters needing transportation from Valletta to Ta’ Qali Stadium via Floriana, Blata l-Bajda, Hamrun, Santa Venera, Mriehel, Attard, and Ta' Qali, there will be shuttle services departing at 17:30hrs, 18:00hrs, 18:30hrs, 19:00hrs, and 19:30hrs from Bay VC1.


Passengers also have the option to utilize Routes 51, 52, and 53 from Valletta to Ta’ Qali, which will pass by Bus Stop 2541 at Qali 1 direction from Hamrun, Santa Venera, Mriehel and Attard.

After the concert, Malta Public Transport will continue to provide special services for attendees for their journey home. The following are the details of the post-concert special services:


TQ1 (North Route):

Departing from Ta' Qali and making stops in Rabat, Mosta, Naxxar, St Paul’s Bay, Bugibba, Qawra, and Mellieha with departure times at 00:15hrs, 00:30hrs, and 00:45hrs.


TQ2 (Central Route):

Departing from Ta’ Qali with stops in Lija, Birkirkara Bypass, San Gwann, St Julian’s, Sliema, and Valletta with departure times at 00:15hrs, 00:25hrs, 00:40hrs, 00:55hrs, and 01:10hrs.


TQ3 (Southeast Route):

Departing from Ta’ Qali and making stops in Attard, Balzan, Birkirkara, Hamrun, Paola, Cottonera, Zabbar, Fgura, Tarxien, Zejtun, and Birzebbuga. The departure times are at 00:15hrs, 00:30hrs, and 00:45hrs.


TQ4 (Southwest Route):

Departing from Ta’ Qali with stops in Zebbug, Qormi, Marsa P&R, Luqa, Kirkop, Safi, Zurrieq, Mqabba, and Qrendi. Departure times at 00:15hrs, 00:30hrs, and 00:45hrs.


The Special Services are part of the free public transport initiative aimed to encourage more people to travel by bus. All personalised Tallinja Card holders can travel free of charge, while cash tickets at €3 per passenger will be available for purchase from the Bus ticket Machine for any passengers who do not have a valid Tallinja Card. Visitors from abroad can also benefit from the Tallinja Explore Flex option, priced at €2.85 per trip. In the event of any concert delays, the Bus Special Service departure times will be adjusted accordingly to align with the concert's conclusion.


Back to news